Okayama University


Opening Ceremony Held for Six National University Network (SUN) Surabaya Office of SixERS in Indonesia

December 08, 2020

On December 1, the Six National Universities International Education, Research System (SixERS), headed by Okayama University, held the official opening ceremony for the Six National University Network (SUN) Surabaya Office of SixERS (located at the Surabaya Institute of Technology (ITS), International Office Postgraduate Building, in Indonesia). The office was established by SixERS in April 2020, but the opening ceremony was initially postponed due to the spread of the novel coronavirus.

As a result, the SixERS online conference on this day became the perfect opportunity to officially mark the occasion. A total of 284 people attended the online event, including Vice President for International Affairs and SixERS Organizational Director KIMURA Kunio and Vice President for Global Engagement Strategy YOKOI Atsufumi from Okayama University, representatives from each of the other SixERS partner universities (Chiba University, Niigata University, Kanazawa University, Nagasaki University, and Kumamoto University), representatives from ITS, and Indonesian students who wish to study abroad in Japan in the near future.

After Kumamoto University Vice President for International Affairs and Director of the Surabaya Office of SiXers OTANI Jun opened the event, Surabaya Office staff member Ms. Mia Hernawati introduced the ITS office and gave a virtual tour. Then, in cooperation with the Study in Japan Global Network Project Regional Office in ASEAN, SixERS partner university faculty members, Indonesian students currently studying abroad at SixERS partner universities, as well as alumni, introduced the SixERS partner universities based on their personal experiences. Representing Okayama University, Associate Professor of Institute of Global Human Resource Development INAMORI Takao and ITS graduate Ms. Laili Nur, who is currently enrolled at the Graduate School of Environmental and Life Science, gave presentations introducing Okayama University to 257 Indonesian students interested in studying abroad in Japan.

The Six National University Network (SUN) Surabaya Office of SiXers is the fourth joint office established by the Consortium of Six National Universities in Japan for the purpose of promoting exchange with universities in strategically important areas. Other offices include the Asian Platform (Changchun, China) established in November 2014, the European Platform established in August 2016 (Leiden, Netherland), and the ASEAN Platform established in August 2017 (Bangkok, Thailand). It is hoped that the establishment of this latest office in Indonesia will promote cooperation with the ASEAN by region increasing educational and research exchange opportunities between Indonesia and Japan.