Okayama University


Professor Kubozono wins the Okayama Prefecture Cultural Award

July 14, 2020

On July 13, the commendation ceremonies for the 72nd Okayama Prefecture Cultural Award and the 21st Okayama Arts and Cultural Award were held at the Renaiss Hall (Uchisange, Kita-ku, Okayama City). At the ceremony, Okayama University’s Research Institute for Interdisciplinary Science Professor KUBOZONO Yoshihiro was awarded the Cultural Award and was presented with a certificate and prize by Okayama Governor IBARAGI Ryuta.

Professor Kubozono has been involved in solid-state chemistry for many years and has achieved world-renowned research results. In particular, he has made outstanding achievements in superconductivity research of new carbon materials such as fullerenes and in organic transistor research. His research paper on "superconductivity in alkali-metal doped picene" was published in the scientific journal, Nature. Recently, he has been actively engaged in research on superconductivity and transistors using carbon-based and inorganic two-dimensional layered materials, and he is also actively researching superconductive properties under high pressure conditions. In addition, he has taken office as the first director of the Research Institute for Interdisciplinary Science, which was established in 2016, and has expertly managed the institute’s operation. The institute has a large number of faculty members who have made impressive global contributions and is actively engaged in research activities with graduate students from all over the world.

Upon receiving the award, Professor Kubozono said, "This award is thanks to Okayama University, colleagues, and various research collaborators around the world. Moving forward, I would like to practically implement my research results to stimulate the development of regional industries. Additionally, I want to do my best to make Okayama a global hub for education and research.”

The “Okayama Prefecture Cultural Award” is an award that celebrates individuals and groups that have contributed to the improvement of local culture and was established in 1948. To date, 155 people and 9 groups have won the award.