Exterior of the main buildings.
Enlarge Image

Exhibition room “Sun”. Shusaku Arakawa and Madeline Gins
Enlarge Image

Exhibition room “Moon”. Kazuo Okazaki
Enlarge Image

Exhibition room “Earth”. Aiko Miyawaki
Enlarge Image

TopicsOkayama Travelogue

Nagi Museum of Contemporary Art

The Nagi Museum of Contemporary Art—also known as ‘Nagi MOCA’—was created in 1994 by internationally renowned architect Arata Isozaki based on a collaboration with artists. The Nagi MOCA is the world’s first ‘site specific arts museum’, consisting of fusion of ideas of art and architecture, with huge exhibits produced by artists that are too large to house in ordinary galleries of arts museums.

The construction of the Nagi Museum of Contemporary Art showed that architects and artists could collaborate to create museums, and is the first arts museum in the world to be become a public facility.

The museum stands at the foot of Mount Nagi and has three exhibition rooms: Shusaku Arakawa building is called "Sun", the Kazuo Okazaki building is "Moon", and the Aiko Miyawaki building is called "Earth". Each building is represented symbolically.

In addition to the permanent work exhibition room, the museum also has a gallery and municipal library. The gallery is used to hold workshops, cafe talks, and mainly exhibitions of contemporary art, as well as musical and dance events both inside and outside the building.

Further information

Architect Arata Isozaki